More on MoneyGram

I read a press release stating that MoneyGram is now available in over 6,000 Candada Post Locations.

I sure hope that they do some better training of their staff at these locations, and monitor them more closely than they did their other Canadian locations.  What am I talking about?

The FTC charged that between 2004 and 2008, MoneyGram agents helped fraudulent telemarketers and other con artists who tricked U.S. consumers into wiring more than $84 million within the United States and to Canada – after these consumers were falsely told they had won a lottery, were hired for a secret shopper program, or were guaranteed loans. The $84 million in losses is based on consumer complaints to MoneyGram – actual consumer losses likely are much higher.

The FTC charged that MoneyGram knew that its system was being used to defraud people but did very little about it, and that in some cases its agents in Canada actually participated in these schemes. According to the FTC’s complaint, MoneyGram knew, or avoided knowing, that about 131 of its more than 1,200 agents accounted for more than 95 percent of the fraud complaints it received in 2008 regarding money transfers to Canada; a similarly small number of agents was responsible for more than 96 percent of all fraud complaints to the company in 2006.

You can read the entire press release here.

3 Responses to “More on MoneyGram”

  1. Edward.J.Chapman Says:

    I have had MoneyGram of Valdosta,Lowdnes County Georgia.In the Walmart Department store Transfer almost nearly the amount of $10,000 usd to the country of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.The persons name that the lawyer suppose to be helping me to retreive my $19 Million usd that I inherited from my deceased uncle Adrew Price that I witness and seen at his funeral left me that hunormous amount of relief funds as part of my share to suvive from growing up.What I am pursuing is the MoneyGramForms that I filled out and paid to have summited to the office.It was just a bogust name of somebody or someone which could be more than one person when I called on the telephone releasing the folio’s on the entry form.Therefore a dozen people with the same name using picture portfolio identification cards standing on line in a formation with the same identical reference number to collect the currency wired threw MoneyGram.My mistake was not asking enough question about the persons age home address and telephone number before transfering.So I think that the nearly $10,000 dollars I invested into my ancestor inheritance to me is stuck down into the main central MoneyGramOffice bank vault and I donnot know on how to retreive my money sent Kuala Lumpur Malaysia which was suppose to be used to pay for the MayBank documents.Is there anyway my money could be returned or refunded to me.If this cash that was given to the MoneyGram is still in the system please provide me some kind of form of application on the website or mail a letter to my home address to help or possible assist me on restoring my account.Thank You very much and please know when to rescue me soon

  2. scamvictimsunited Says:

    I hate to be the one to tell you this, but once the money has been picked up from the MoneyGram location there is nothing that they can do to get it back. If you had found out that it was a scam before anyone picked up the money they may have been able to recover the money for you.

    To report scams, please see our listing at http://scamvictimsunited.com/Reporting_scams.htm

  3. Euthad Says:

    Your idea is outstanding; the issue is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in


Leave a Reply

