Did you know . . .

That Facebook recently changed it’s privacy settings? Now they can share your personal information with large companies WITHOUT YOUR APPROVAL! What is the point of having an account with settings so that only certain people can view your account if they are going to give the info to anyone they want.

Senator Al Franken recently asked Facebook to change their policies.  The Electronic Privacy Information Center is also asking the FTC to do something about this issue.

Until Facebook does change their policy you can opt-out of having your information shared with third parities.

You can complete the whole process in a few minutes using the links below and your browser’s ‘back’ button. Here is how:

  1. First, log into Facebook in a new window or tab.
  2. Next, go to the “Instant Personalization” page (under Account/Privacy Settings/Applications and Websites) and uncheck the “allow” box.
  3. To prevent the third parties from accessing your information through your friends who have not opted out, you need to visit Pandora, Microsoft, and Yelp and click on the “Block Application” link in the upper left corner of the page.
  4. Finally, check Facebook’s “Help Center” frequently to see an up-to-date list of applications that need to be individually blocked to maintain your privacy.
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: