More on Secret Shopper Scams

For a listing of legitimate Secret Shopper companies, go to http://www.mysteryshop.org/

We have spoken with representatives at both Western Union and Money Gram. Money Gram does NOT use Secret Shoppers as a normal business practice. Western Union does use Secret Shoppers, but the shoppers are NEVER paid by cashier’s check or money order. If you have been contacted to shop Western Union or Money Gram, and it involves you receiving a cashier’s check or money order, IT IS A SCAM.

Often, the email address used by the representative of the company “hiring” you will be coming from a generic email address, and not one associated with that company. For further assurance, search out that company on your own and contact them for verification.

Shawn Mosch
Co-Founder of ScamVictimsUnited.com
There is strength in numbers!

Find us on Twitter, Facebook and more through
http://www.retaggr.com/page/ShawnMosch

8 Responses to “More on Secret Shopper Scams”

  1. Becky Schaugaard Says:

    Sorry I pushed the wrong button when I was writing you. To make a long story short. I received a check to be a Mystery Shopper. I was told to deposit my check and wait for the bank to make sure that it was good (not counterfeit). My bank put a hold on it until Monday. After reading your blog I have become nervous about whether the check could to valid. So I called my bank and asked them if there is anyway that they could notify me when the funds had been paid. I was told “No!” I would have to contact the bank that the check was drafted on. I did something stupid and didn’t make a copy of the check so I don’t know the name of the bank that the check was drafted on.
    Is there anyway to know if the company is valid. I am unsure if the name of the company on the letterhead is the company that is hiring me. I looked up the name of the company on the letterhead on the BBB website and they had a good rating (A-) and the person I spoke with seemed on the up and up. I could use the money, but I don’t want to become a victim. Please give me some feedback!

  2. scamvictimsunited Says:

    It is a scam . . . I am 100% sure. I have checked with SEVERAL legitimate Secret Shopper company’s and they DO NOT pay with cashier’s checks and they would NEVER send a cashier’s check to the “secret shopper”.

    I am going to guess that one of the places that you had to secret shop was a place that wires money . . . right?

  3. Becky Schaugaard Says:

    Yes, I was to send to money order to two people in England, each was $1200.

  4. scamvictimsunited Says:

    Don’t do it . . . it is a scam. You can contact me through http://www.retaggr.com/page/ShawnMosch if you have more questions, but please do not send any money!

  5. scamvictimsunited Says:

    I’ve received a check and was told to western union money and stuff. I took that check to my bank and had them to check it out. Fortunely they said it was a scam.

  6. scamvictimsunited Says:

    I am happy to hear that your bank informed you that it was a scam. Some people have been arrested when they bring the check into their bank to have it verified.

  7. Becky Schaugaard Says:

    I am just curios is there anyone that you can contact to get these companies to stop scamming people. It frustrates me that they can get away with it,. I also wonder if the company on the check is aware that someone is using its name. The company on my check seemed to be a replicable company.


Leave a Reply

